Posted by: Morgan | November 19, 2011

Floor Lamp Renovation – Part One

I decided this past week to identify the one thing in the living room that bothered me the most, and then renovate it to make me happy. It didn’t take me long to choose. I give you the ‘Cheapo Walmart Lamp’:

  I keep thinking that one day I’ll get a nicer lamp. You know, one that’s not made of multiple pieces screwed together and actually has a glass shade, instead of the flimsy opaque plastic.  But that day hasn’t come yet and the lamp made me feel poor and ugly, so it had to change.  I skimmed through Pinterest for some ideas, deciding that it would get a new glossy color and some sort of renovated shade.  This is part one, the story of the lamp itself.

  Caleb and I headed to Michael’s late last night. I had a 50% off-one-item coupon for JoAnn’s that I intended on using as a ‘competitor match coupon’ and one 40% off-one-item for Michael’s; I was planning on making this thing for under $5.  We located the spray paint case (which is padlocked, strangely. I suppose those who may readily need spraypaint for street art wouldn’t often be above shoplifting. If you’re about to vandalize and break the law, staying within the law is probably not very alluring directly beforehand) and located a sales associate to help us get to said spray paint.

As the Michael’s employee was opening the case, a loose can of primer fell off the top of the cabinet, almost hitting my head.  The employee apologized profusely, but I wasn’t too fazed.  We picked out Glossy Purple and the employee helped us find the other items we needed.  In the end, because of the ‘hazardous shopping experience’, he gave me 50% off my entire purchase, and I got to keep my other coupons. I’m a fan of that.

   Today was super windy, but I decided I just couldn’t wait any longer to paint.  After removing the bulbs and shades, I took out some trusty blue painter’s tape and covered the parts I didn’t want to turn purple.

  Then off to the back porch I went. The wind almost made it impossible to get the paint to hit the lamp, but after a couple minutes I figured out how to get it to work with me, and we were in business!  The wind helped dry it quickly, which was helpful for such a novice spray-painter. I got a few coats on it and then pulled it back inside.  After getting the shades and bulbs put back on, I can say that I’m quite happy with the results.

  Unfortunately in my excitement, I rubbed the paint off in one place, but it should be a quick fix at a later date.  I’d even go so far as to say that the plastic shade even looks better now.  I’m probably going to still work on Part Two – Lamp Shade Renovation, but until then I think this little lamp has a new life.

What do you think?  Have you recently given a little touch-up to something in your home? Tell me about it!

Responses

  1. You have a great purple lamp now! Plus you have an Atnt advertisement on your page… weird.

  2. It’s amazing how little things can make a home. When we lived in our apartment, the thing that made me feel good about it was my tablecloth. Two dollars worth of fabric and a hem turned an ugly, tiny table into something that I loved.


Leave a Reply

Categories

