Posted by: Morgan | March 11, 2011

20 Truths and No Lies

As a response to another blog post, and because I feel like doing something not related to cleaning right now, here are 20 truths (and no lies)..all about me.

-I never eat whole apples. Some time before I was ten, my uncle said to me “You know what’s worse than finding a worm in your apple? Finding half a worm in your apple”. I didn’t eat a single apple for ten years, and now I have to cut them. Every time.

-I’m not able to be hired by Abercrombie & Fitch (or any of its fellow A&F stores…Holister, Abercrombie, A&F Kids, etc). I got a second job working at the Abercrombie & Fitch on the Santa Monica Promenade in the summer of 2008. I worked 3 1/2 shifts and hated it (why, I’m really not sure of). Halfway through my fourth shift I called Caleb and told him I couldn’t do it anymore and that I was going to quit (once again, I’m not sure at all why it was such torture to me). He said ok (what kind of people were we?!) and I told my boss a family emergency had come up and I had to leave right then. The next morning I called in and said I wasn’t coming back to work. They informed me if I didn’t submit a two-week notice I would not be allowed to be hired again by them. I said ok, no problem.

-When I first start college, I wanted to become a marine biologist.

-I haven’t had un-dyed hair since the summer before I got married (2005).

-I hate cold water. It is my kryptonite. I will do almost anything to avoid a cup of cold water being thrown on me.

-From the ages 9-16 I only wore skirts and dresses. I felt that God wanted me to do that to be more modest. When I was 16 I started wearing (very baggy) overalls when working with my horse. After a lot of trepidation, I started wearing (very baggy) shorts that next summer. After a year, I bought my first pair of jeans since age 9. I didn’t wear a thin-strapped tank top until after I was engaged.

-I believe that spiritual gifts are active in the church today. I have the gift of administration and discernment of spirits. These are definitely stronger when I’m walking closer with God than when I’m not.

-I have been in the car every time my husband and his brother have been pulled over (respectively).

-I have been pulled over while driving five times, but only received 1 ticket. One was late at night for speeding (which I got out of because I’d only been driving a year and hadn’t ever been pulled over before that, so he gave me a warning), one was for doing 55 in a 35 (resulting from thinking it was 45 there and having my spedometer broken) and my ticket was almost $200, one was for “negligent driving” because I was brushing and braiding my hair while driving (warning), one was for swerving all over the road on back roads near my house while I was getting home late at night (he thought I was drunk, but I was just lazy…warning), and one was for a tail-light that was out (warning).

-When I was in 5th or 6th grade I read half of Robinson Crusoe for school and found it so boring that I didn’t pick up another book to read for pleasure until I was 18. The books that caught my attention? Harry Potter. I read them to see what all the Christian opposition about them was about, and couldn’t put them down. The only other books I’ve consistently loved to read since are any by Terry Pratchett.

-I’ve been to the midnight showings of all six Star Wars films (obviously not the original releases of 4-6) and all three Lord of the Rings films.

-My first kiss ever was on my wedding day.

-I’m not a big fan of cheese. It has its place in certain dishes and at certain times, but I will not be one at the table to ask for extra cheese please.

-My favorite flowers are roses and tulips. Roses I prefer outside, tulips I prefer inside. A field of tulips doesn’t really seem pretty to me, but a vase of them is so cheerful. If I could have dozens of rose bushes around my house, I would looove it. If I bring roses in, I prefer english roses to stem roses.

-My favorite color is brown and then after that any shade of bright green.

-I have been pregnant twice, birthed naturally at home in water, and have one girl and one boy.

-My biggest fear is of being raped.

-I think my best physical feature is my back. I think my worst physical feature is my profile. While I don’t hate it anymore, I definitely prefer not to ever see it.

-One of the best jobs I’ve ever had was working construction with my dad, two of my brothers, and Caleb the summer before we got married. We roofed quite a few houses, which is how I got my tan for my wedding, and the physical labor was very hard but very fulfilling.

-If I could go anywhere in the world for vacation, I’d go on a cruise to the Caribbean. While I’m slightly freaked out by the thought of being on a boat in the open ocean, I really want to experience several different islands.

So there you go. You know a little more about me. 🙂

Responses

  1. There were a couple things I didn’t know about you! Or forgot at least. The apple bit was one.. I thought green was your color.. and a few others.

  2. Thanks for sharing! Definitely not your typical “20 things about me” that i’ve read from so many others. Also glad to have another friend blog to follow =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

