Posted by: Morgan | December 21, 2010

Comfort & Joy

I just want to dwell on the words of a very familiar Christmas song.

God rest ye merry, gentlemen,
Let nothing you dismay,
For Jesus Christ our Saviour
Was born upon this day,
To save us all from Satan’s power
When we were gone astray:
O tidings of comfort and joy,
comfort and joy,
O tidings of comfort and joy.

(Emphasis mine)

 

I sat alone in the living room for a few moments at one point this evening. Pandora was playing a ‘Third Day Holiday’ station in the background and I was suddenly aware of the words ‘comfort and joy’ being sung over and over and over again. That’s exactly what I wanted and needed. I want to feel arms pull me in close and hear Someone say it will be ok. I want to be content and joyful with the beautiful life I do have.

When I went to find the song, the word ‘rest’ pushed it way above the others, and I realized how much I long for rest. But look, there in the next line, I shouldn’t dismay because, a few lines down, I have been saved! I know it’s not scripture, but I sure found comfort and joy in this small, very familiar song. Now I’m going to go lie down and try to rest, and try to not be concerned about the next few days and what they may bring.

Responses

  1. I love old hymns and they are often derived directly from Scripture… not necessarily this one I guess, but the concepts are definitely taken from the Word. If nothing else, that’s all Christmas is about – the comfort and joy of God with us – our salvation! I just read a quote the other day that went something like this: “Christmas Day is but the morning of one long day ending withood Friday…” or something. It’s one continuous story – we tend to separate them chronologically for holidays but our celebration now is the SAME and for the same reasons as Easter. Comfort and joy.
    It’s also the name of one of my very favorite teas. haha


Leave a Reply

Categories

