Posted by: Morgan | December 3, 2010

God’s job

Today I was going to continue my introductions to the blogs I follow, but events of the past 18 hours have shown themselves to be much more poignant. Miracles typically are, afterall, and we’ve definitely witnessed a real God-showing-His-power one. A little over a week ago my Facebook status read “Excited to see the miracles that God will preform next week!”, alluding to the fact that the first was a’coming. The first of the month is when rent is due for most everyone but, unfortunately for us (or maybe more unfortunately for our landlords), the fact that Caleb’s been out of full-time work for almost two months was severely effecting our bank account balances. At the beginning of this week, we had just under $200 in the account, with the need to fill up on gas and go grocery shopping.

This is not the first time in our marriage that things have been tight financially, but it may very well be the tightest that it ever has been, and perhaps the longest duration of decreased income. I used to worry so much about where the money would come from to pay for the things we needed, stress over what we should do more of, feel guilty about doing the things we should do less of. Looking back over the past few years, I’m amazed and thrilled to truly see how much my faith in this area has grown. Sitting at the computer with Caleb on Monday evening, looking at the balances and figuring what may need to come out before Wednesday, I had not a worry in the world. I had no idea where the money would come from, or even that it would come, but I wasn’t worried about it. On one hand, I knew we have been very careful about our spending and I had no financial-spoof regrets to burden my thoughts. On the other hand, I have come into the habit of letting God know that paying the bills is His job (that came out quite a bit more sacrilegiously than it was meant to). We will do everything we are able to do as far as working hard, budgeting well, and limiting extra spending, but truly we are not able to conjure up the funds to pay those we need to. There is, of course, the aspect of it that everything is from the Lord and we do not truly provide for ourselves in any way. But there is also a part, for me at least, that completely takes the burden away from me when I truly envision it as His job.

So, back to the miracle I was telling you about. Wednesday, the first, came and went (quite quickly, actually. Crazy day, that one). Bible study that night prayed for us, the job opportunity that we’re in the middle of right now, and that God would provide for us this month. Last month we had to ask for money from some people, and were given $850 between a sweet couple we know and our church family (amazing in and of itself!), so Caleb was really not wanting to make the inevitable call to our next set of friends to see if they could loan anything to help with rent. That, combined with him working open to close (…very separate topic), led him to not be able to make any calls, and led us to thinking we’d probably be having to start adding up the late fees which start to tack onto rent after the third of the month. We were settling down for the night, listening to the monitor for baby fussing, and generally wiped out when we received a call from Caleb’s mom. Apparently that evening she had been approached by someone (or a group of someones) that wanted to love on us with a financial gift of $550. We were left speechless and feeling very loved. We’ve been blessed enough to be able to gift large sums of money to friends in the past and, let me tell you, no matter whether you think it’s more blessed to give than receive, it’s definitely easier. How humbling (but in a good, makes-me-smile way) to receive such love from people without faces, requiring us to look at their gift as a direct blessing from God. I immediately jumped online to look at how much we had in our accounts to make up the remainder due for rent, but not worried that it would not be there. I didn’t think God would bring some of the money we needed but not provide completely, so I wasn’t surprised that we had just a little more than we needed to bring the total to full.

That may seem like the full miracle, and it really is miraculous all on its own, but it’s still just part of the story. Today, as she was handing me the cash from the checks she had been given, my mother-in-law mentioned that she was also throwing in $10 of $40 that she was using to purchase something from the company we are independent consultants with. She said she was sorry she didn’t have the full for

ty in cash but, and then she said almost like an afterthought, there had been another donation of $100. That brought the amount in the little cash envelope to $660. I just stopped dead in my tracks. Guess how much rent is here for our narrow, perfect two-bedroom townhome? $658.

Yep, that’s right. God completely brought it exactly what we needed. Well, with $2 extra. Makes me wonder what that $2 is for.

Seriously, how amazing is this? I’m going to finish typing up this post, go put a sleeping Logan down beside his snoring daddy and sister, write the check for rent, drop it off, run to deposit the cash in the bank, and then maybe drop by McDonalds for two $1 drinks. Maybe that’s what God had in mine for those extra two dollars. 🙂 I’m glad this is His job, because He’s apparently really good at it. Thanks for paying our rent for us, Lord.

 

Now it’s your turn. Do you have a story about an amazing time God provided for you? Have you ever been given exactly what you needed right when you needed it? What about getting an anonymous gift? I can’t wait to hear about the miracles happening in your life!

Responses

  1. This is something I’ve been learning since last November. Although the job God provided for Andrew now brings in more than enough money for us to survive (buy food, get gas, pay the bills, etc), it didn’t at first and there were times when we were definitely relying on God to make up for what we didn’t have. I still get anxious when it seems we’re not going to make it during the occasional time when unexpected but necessary expenses drain our bank account, but each time God has come through for us.

    • Isn’t it so amazingly wonderful how God never gets tired of caring for us even though we get so wiped out about life? Makes me love Him more as my Parent, seeing as I know how hard that is to do as a parent myself.


Leave a Reply

Categories

