Posted by: Morgan | October 17, 2009

Challenge: Learning to love food

While looking through our local library’s extremely limited section on pregnancy, birth and child-rearing I came across this spunky little book:

The Seattle-based dad of little Iris Amster-Burton is an absolutely wonderful author and, I greatly imagine, an absolutely wonderful food critic. His frustration with modern takes on feeding infants and small children resulted in this book to help other parents leave all fear behind when attempting to raise an adventurous eater. Caleb and I have discussed this very topic numerous times, far before we even knew we were going to be parents. Both of us have fairly limited palettes, he more so than myself, but consistently enjoy watching Food Network/TopChef-like shows. Often we found ourselves wondering if we would, or even could, enjoy the foods being prepared so skillfully and presented so beautifully. We vowed to figure out some way to make our children’s palettes more varied, hoping this gave them the opportunity for a whole facet of life that we don’t really enjoy: the love of food.

I must pause for a moment to say that Caleb, while he may have very specific foods he tends to avoid, enjoys cooking, eating, experimenting with tastes and flavors, and is never afraid to try something at least once. I, on the other hand, typically hate eating. It seems like such a bother, cutting into my day and requiring my focus away from other things that must be done. And it must be done so often. Many times I have suggested that if a pill is ever designed to cut out eating all together I’d be the first one in line. God apparently decided He needed to require that I eat, or perhaps I wouldn’t, and it turns out that I have hypoglycemia which requires me to eat at least three times a day with protein being a major part of my diet by necessity.

According to Mr. Amster-Burton “Food is fun, and you get to enjoy it three times a day, plus snacks!”. I’ve decided to challenge myself to learn to love food. Oftentimes I have used the excuse that making good food requires more money than I have to devote to exotic ingredients and garnishes. If I truly had a love of food, my budget wouldn’t contain me and I would work even harder to make the food I have fun and flavorful. Perhaps this makes my challenge even more difficult, as I must create a love for food while working with a tighter budget than it appears the Amster-Burtons had the need to (he mentions buying a type of ham that is $94 a pound. Apparently they didn’t buy it after that first time, but still).

I’m actually looking forward to learning to love food. Even so, I am fairly dubious on the success I may or may not have. For this reason I will not set a time limit on the completion of this goal. Then again, this seems like a challenge one really wouldn’t want to stop.

Leave a Reply

Categories

