Posted by: Morgan | January 19, 2011

Just like the old days

We stayed up way too late, but it was perfect. I started on the couch, but ended up on his lap, with lots of quilts keeping us snuggly warm. We both ate a bowl of cereal and laughed so hard we almost spit it across the room. We kept laughing after the cereal was gone and set aside. We talked about serious things and our future and taking time to talk to God. We laughed again and then laughed at our laughing. I rested my forehead on his cheek and just sighed. We sat and said nothing at all. He recalled how we used to wonder when people said they did that, because we always had something to say to eachother. But it was perfect.
It was just a stolen thirty minutes of the night, but it made the day shine.

Responses

  1. Aren’t those times special? I love it when we stop and take time to just enjoy each others’ company. We have been talking, praying, and doing devotions together alone each evening and it has been a tremendous blessing because we also just end up talking and enjoying each other in the quiet like that… so easy to forget to take time for in the midst of parenthood!

  2. *sigh* My husband and I are in two different cities right now. Reading this makes me long for him even more…he’s my best friend…sounds as if we have something in common. ;)

    • Ooh, I hate times like that. Caleb and I were ‘separated’ (that term freaks people out) for 3 months while he had to live on campus at school (in East Texas) and I lived with my parents (in California). We had been married 1 1/2 years at the time. He came for one weekend for my 21st birthday.

      It was supposed to be a full year apart, but after 2 months we said forget this and I started working on moving back to him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

